Framework for best practice in volunteer management

Australia has adopted The National Standards for Volunteer Involvement. These standards provide a framework for organisations to consider the role of volunteers within the organisation and the impact effective volunteer involvement can have on achieving the strategic goals and aims of the organisation.

There are 8 standards addressing the key areas of volunteer involvement:

  1. Leadership and management
  2. Commitment to volunteer involvement
  3. Volunteer roles
  4. Recruitment and selection
  5. Support and development
  6. Workplace safety and well-being
  7. Volunteer recognition
  8. Quality management and continuous improvement

The National Standards have been designed to help organisations:

  • Incorporate the values and maximise the benefits of volunteer involvement
  • Develop effective volunteer involvement strategies and practices
  • Involve volunteers in meaningful and useful activities that contribute to the outcomes of the organisation’s work
  • Ensure the rights of volunteers are protected and that they are supported to carry out their roles and responsibilities.


The National Standards for Volunteer Involvement

The Centre for Volunteering runs a number of practical workshops for Volunteer Involving Organisations and Volunteer Managers on Implementing The National Standards.  For more information view our training schedule here or contact us at  or our Learning and Development Co-ordinator by phone at 02 9261 3600.