The NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards have grown to become one of the largest celebrations of volunteering across the country.

The Awards are now in their 16th year and celebrate the efforts of our state’s volunteers across seven different award categories. More than 3,000 special guests, families and friends attend ceremonies at 24 locations across regional and suburban centres to celebrate the regional winners of the volunteer awards.

Finalists will be invited to the Gala State Ceremony in Sydney to announce the final winners and overall NSW Volunteer of the Year.

More than 117,000 people from over 500 organisations were recognised in last years awards, with special messages of support received from the Prime Minister and the Governor of New South Wales.

Award Categories

  • Young Volunteer of the Year
  • Adult Volunteer of the Year
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year
  • Volunteer Team of the Year
  • Club Volunteer of the Year
  • Employee Volunteer of the Year
  • Volunteer Leader of the Year
  • Not-for-Profit Voluntary Governance Award


Please find the Nomination Guidelines and Nomination Form here

You can also read our FAQs here.

Nominations close 5pm Friday 17 June 2022.

Bulk Nominations

For those organisations wanting to recognise 20 or more volunteers, we also have a bulk nomination spreadsheet.  We have tailored this for you to make it even easier to celebrate each and every one of your volunteers.  For bulk nominations contact and the Awards team will send you the details.

Our supporters

The Centre for Volunteering would like to thank our sponsors for their generosity and ongoing support of the NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards.

If you have any questions during the nomination process, please contact the Awards team via or 02 9261 3600.